Uttarakhand assembly elections: BJP MP Rajkumar Thukral quits party after ticket rejection, likely to run as an independent | Dehradun News

RUDRAPUR: Party ticket refused this election, incumbent BJP MP from Rudrapur assembly constituency in Uttarakhand, Rajkumar Thukral, announced on Thursday that he would quit the party. Subsequently, he tendered his resignation to BJP state chairman Madan Kaushik.
Thukral is likely to contest the elections independently. Hundreds of BJP workers gathered at his home in the city’s Adarsh ​​settlement and voiced their dissent over the ticket distribution.
Thukral’s name was not on the list of candidates released by the BJP on Wednesday night for the state’s proposed February 14 parliamentary elections. He was replaced by BJP District Chairman Shiv Arora.

Thukral is a two time legislator from Rudrapur. He received the party ticket in 2012 and defeated former Congress minister Tilak Raj Behar. In 2017, again, the two leaders had a head-on contest where Thukral retained his seat. But this time, Thukral was denied the assembly ticket as the BJP declared candidates for nine assembly seats in its latest list.
Detailed coverage
Thukral sent a letter to the BJP state chairman, communicating his resignation as a senior member of the party. The letter was also posted on several social media platforms.
Speaking to YOU, Thukral said: “I have been a dedicated party worker for the past four decades. Some party officials hatched a plot against me and managed to get my ballot canceled. I won’t join any political party but in all honesty my supporters persuaded me to run as an independent I have one day left to be nominated I will do what my supporters ask of me.
Thukral, who has a knack for stirring up controversy, recently made the news with four audios that have gone viral on social media. In these audios, we could have heard him throwing insults at the Hindu community. The other audios contained disparaging remarks for Education Minister Arvind Pandey, BJP Head of State Madan Kaushik and Kiccha lawmaker Rajesh Shukla. It is assumed that these audios had a decisive impact on the distribution of the ticket.
However, Thukral has always refuted the charges and claimed the audios were doctored. He wrote a letter to BJP National Chairman JP Nadda asking for forensic tests and also filed a complaint with the city police to prove the case, alleging that the audios had been altered to harm his picture.
Meanwhile, a senior RSS official, who wished not to be named, said: “The party changed its candidate after long deliberations. Thukral will be pacified and he will be given greater responsibility in the party.”
Notably, the saffron party also refused tickets to two other incumbent MPs, namely Deshraj Karnwal and Naveen Dumka.

Comments are closed.