Mulayam Singh Yadav votes in Saifai; voter turnout 21.18%

Karhal: Akhilesh Yadav (SP) vs. SP Singh Baghel (BJP)

Part of Mainpuri Lok Sabha constituency which is considered Mulayam Singh Yadav’s territory, Karhal has been won by the SP since 1993 except 2002 when BJP’s Sobaran Singh Yadav was victorious. The latter later joined the SP and has been the winning candidate of the party led by Akhilesh Yadav since 2007. Four times MP for Lok Sabha, SP leader Akhilesh Yadav will stand for election to the Assembly for the first time. When he was sworn in as CM in 2017, he preferred to seek election to the UP Legislative Council.

On the other hand, the BJP has sent MP for Agra SP Singh Baghel who is currently the State Minister for Law and Justice in the Union Government. Interestingly, he represented Jalesar in the Lok Sabha as a member of the SP from 1998 to 2009. Subsequently, he changed his allegiance to the BSP and was appointed to the Rajya Sabha until 2014, after which he joined the BJP. In the 2017 Assembly polls, he won Tundla and served as Minister of Livestock, Minor Irrigation and Fisheries in the government led by Yogi Adityanath until 2019. Congress decided not to not contest this seat in a gesture of goodwill towards SP.

Jaswantnagar: Shivpal Yadav (SP) vs. Vivek Shakya (BJP)

A Member of Parliament for Jaswantnagar Assembly constituency since 1996, the former UP minister formed the Pragatisheel Samajwadi (Lohia) party on August 29, 2018, after quitting the SP. Dismissing the initial hiccups, Akhilesh Yadav had announced an alliance between SP and PSP (L) after meeting his uncle on December 16, 2021. As Shivpal Yadav contests the election on the symbol SP, sources reveal that his son Aditya will be hosted in the Legislative Council later. Just like Karhal, the Congress also did not field a candidate for Jaswantnagar. Meanwhile, the BJP gave the ticket to a young grassroots worker Vivek Shakya.

Farrukhabad: Major Sunil Dutt Dwivedi (BJP) vs Louise Khurshid (Congress)

The BJP rested its confidence in Major Sunil Dutt Dwivedi, the incumbent MPP, who defeated BSP’s Mohd. Umar Khan by a margin of over 35,000 votes in the 2017 elections. Additionally, BSP and SP gave the ticket to Vijay Kumar Katiyar and Suman Shakya respectively. In this constituency, the Congress presented a strong candidate in Louise Khurshid, the wife of former Union minister Salman Khurshid who was the chairman of the party’s Manifesto Central Committee for the UP elections. She was elected to the Legislative Assembly in the 2002 assembly polls from the Kaimganj seat.

Kannauj: Anil Kumar Dohare (SP) vs. Asim Arun (BJP)

This seat is expected to witness a head-to-head showdown between incumbent SP MP Anil Kumar Dohare and BJP’s Asim Arun. The SP candidate defeated Banwari Lal Dohare of the BJP by a margin of 2,454 votes in the previous elections. On the other hand, Arun was the police commissioner of Kanpur who joined the saffron party on January 16 after his candidacy for the voluntary retirement program was accepted.

An IPS officer in 1994, the BJP candidate is from Kannauj and holds a master’s degree in public policy from the University of British Columbia. He held several prominent positions including SP of Agra, Aligarh, Gorakhpur, Balrampur, Hathras and Siddharth Nagar and head of the close protection team guarding former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh as part of the SPG. In addition to that, he was part of the United Nations Peacekeeping Mission in Kosovo in 2002-03.

Sirsaganj: Hari Om Yadav (BJP) vs. Sarvesh Singh (SP)

A relative of SP Patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav, Hari Om Yadav crossed over to the BJP on January 12 along with fellow MP Naresh Saini. He served as President of Firozabad Zila Panchayat from 2000 to 2002, when he was elected to the Legislative Assembly of Shikohabad. However, he suffered a setback in the 2007 polls when he lost to an independent candidate. Subsequently, he won the Sirsaganj seat in 2012 as well as 2017. SP fielded Sarvesh Singh from here while BSP’s Pankaj Mishra and Congress’ Pratima Pal are also in the polls fray.

Comments are closed.